Art Progress: Week 7, the Tablet

It’s a little crazy to look at the weeks slowly get larger on this blog. That’s the kind of feedback that really helps me out, honestly. Seeing that something more than just a few drops of art practice in the bucket of sucking are slowly making a difference. At the seven week mark, I have spent at least 49 hours drawing. This means I’ve passed the 20 hour mark for being decent at a thing, and now rolling toward the end of the second month of practice, I can say that it would be a bit weird to think of what I’d do if I didn’t draw for a least a little bit each day.

Something that has drastically made a difference in both my enthusiasm and ability to start practicing for the day has come in a small rectangle shape. After my sister dropped by, I was lucky enough to leave the exchange up one drawing tablet.

This has really helped me get in the mood for drawing and take a step closer toward what i want to do with this stuff. This week I’ve been breaking it in and figuring out how to draw again when I can’t ‘see’ what I’m drawing, or ‘feel’ the paper or ink/graphite. I’ll still be working with physical tools in the future, but if ever I needed an affordable and portable solution for my artwork, this has got to be it. Extremely thin, feels well enough put together, but no so expensive feeling that I’m going to be too delicate with it. A good travel buddy. What would be amazing is if I could figure out how to get it to work on my phone. If anyone knows how to get a drawing tablet to connect and work with android smartphones, leave a comment below!

This Weeks Practice

I’ve also made the decision to finally rebuff my Deviantart page which will (once updated) be the home for my past, current, and future artwork. Imgur is useful in a pinch, but I don’t feel it offers the amount of browsability something like Deviantart can. This, in itself is another stepping stone I’ll be balancing my online content on until I’ve learned enough html or web design know how to take charge of my own site. This week, you get imgur albums again. Things will be easier when photoshop is playing nice and letting me save in manageable file sizes. Until then, no full size wallpapers for anyone just yet.13.11.8 practice

This was one of the first practices. Check out how things are progressing in the link below!

Week 7 progress

Leave a comment